News Ticker

G8 Nations Commit to Open Data

Five Key Principles of Open Data

In 2013, the G8 countries committed to an Open Data Charter, recognising the importance of open data in promoting innovation and government transparency.

The Open Data Charter identifies open data as “an untapped resource with huge potential to encourage the building of stronger, more interconnected societies that better meet the needs of our citizens and allow innovation and prosperity to flourish”.

The G8 nations committed to five principles guiding the access, release and re-use of data:

  1. Open Data by Default
  2. Quality and Quantity
  3. Useable by All
  4.  Releasing Data for Improved Governance
  5.  Releasing Data for Innovation

Under the Charter, G8 nations have committed to implementing the five principles by end 2015, “while working within our national political and legal frameworks” and “in accordance with the technical best practises and time frames”.

The Open Data Charter was signed  in June 2013 by the G8 nations of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the UK and the US, at the G8 Summit in Lough Erne, Northern Ireland.

Access the full report: G8 Open Data Charter


Canada’s Action Plan: G8 Open Data Charter 

US Open Data Action Plan

UK Policy Paper: G8 Open Data Charter and Technical Annex

Japan’s Open Data Charter Action Plan

Germany’s National Action Plan to implement the G8 Open Data Charter

Italy’s Open Data Action Plan

European Union Implementation of the G8 Open Data Charter